Turning wholesome

It’s been ages since I last posted, but that doesn’t mean I’ve been sitting twiddling my thumbs.

image

In fact I’ve been pretty busy, mostly cooking up a storm in the kitchen. I’ve decided to take control of how and what I eat, accepting the fact that endless cakes and biscuits filled with refined sugar and other baddies will never be good for me.

So I’ve stocked my cupboards with good, wholesome ingredients, have dusted off a little juicer that someone gave me a couple of years ago, and have bought myself a blender.

Now my meals are homemade and wholesome. Nutrition is now something that fascinates me, rather than making me yawn. Green juices are appealing, smoothies are delicious, and the refined sugars have been replaced by maple syrup and honey. I know that’s not cutting out the sugary content of my food, but the things that satisfy my sweet tooth are now natural, not refined. I’ve cut back too on gluten-heavy things like bread.

Some people may argue that eating this way is a fad, but I feel better and have lost some pounds to boot. I even ground my own flour yesterday for a cake, using amaranth. This is getting serious now!

Here’s a selection of my recent cooking, juicing and baking.

Sarah x

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

