Handmade / Dotty about Dottie

image

Like anyone, I have my icons, for craft, styleย and blogging inspiration. And for me, Tif Fussell – aka Dottie Angel – sits at the top of my tree.

I love Tif’s eclectic, personal and most marvellous Dottie Angel style. She’s a Brit abroad (in America’s north-west) and has a way of blogging that draws you in and makes you feel like you’ve known each other for ages.

image

I recently bought some oh-so-sweet notepads and some gorgeous tea towels from the Dottie Angel etsy store.

image

I’ve started writing in the blue notebook, translating some colours from a Drops granny square jacket pattern into the yarn I actually have in my stash (rather than buying new yarn, shock horror!).

image

The teatowels were more of a poser. Upon arrival I discovered that they were enormous (I should have trusted the description!) and were way too nice to use as teatowels. So an idea formed, and I sewed the right sides together, around three sides, and tacked them into my lining-less basket. Ta-da!

image

Basket lined with Dottie Angel teatowels

image

image

Now I carry Dottie Angel’s list of dos around with me:

  1. do have high hopes
  2. do follow the righteous and goodly path of thriftiness
  3. do think you are most peachy perfect
  4. do feel a little crafty at least twice a day
  5. do wear your slip peeking out from underneath your skirt
  6. do embrace all that is granny chic and give it a forever home

I’ve started crocheting a series of doilies, which I’ll sew onto the outside of the basket. The patterns came from one of my most favourite crochet books – Simple Crochet by the lovely Sara Sinaguglia. Can you see that the dark green ones has hearts in the design?

image

As Tif Fussell herself would hopefully say, peachy perfect!

What do you think?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

