Out and about / Monocled slugs, Hetty and Dave

The other day I finally had time to call into Love from Hetty and Dave in Pokesdown, Bournemouth.SlugsZoe, who runs Love from Hetty and Dave, creates the most fabulous brooches and pieces out of vintage materials. If you read Mollie Makes, you may well have seen’s Zoe’s work.

We chatted for quite a while, and when I asked Zoe what her what her best-selling creations were, she replied… slugs (especially the monocled ones)!

Now, I’m not usually a fan of your common-or-garden slug (particularly those who inhabit my own garden) but Zoe’s slugs are funny, stylish, and dare I say, cute?

Strawberries hairslide and Mike the slugIt’s my elder daughter’s seventh birthday next month, and she came into the shop with me. I asked her to keep her eyes tight shut while I chose her favourite piece in the shop – a strawberry hair slide, plus Mike the slug as birthday presents.

Cape, kingfisher and robin broochesOf course, I couldn’t leave the shop empty-handed, and chose the most gorgeous red capelet, a stunning leather kingfisher brooch, plus a robin brooch as a Christmas present for my mum (check me out being super-organised!).
imageAltogether, a lovely feeling to discover such a gem of a shop. If you’re not able to get to Pokesdown, then fear not, as you can buy from Love from Hetty and Dave online.

Sarah xx

Leave a Reply

